Vertem Futurity
Vertem Futurity
The Vertem Futurity Trophy

The final Group 1 of the season - where stars are born.

Vertem Futurity Trophy

Horses racing at Doncaster Racecourse

History Of The Trophy

Established back in 1961, the Vertem Futurity Trophy (previously known as the Timeform Gold Cup and the Observer Gold Cup) runs at Doncaster every October over 1 mile. Vertem Asset Management became the sponsor in 2018, taking over from The Racing Post, who had supported the race for a number of years.

Two horses and jockeys in a close race a Doncaster Racecourse

Where Stars Are Born

As the final Group 1 of the season, the Vertem Futurity Trophy attracts leading trainers and two-year-old horses from across Britain and Ireland. 

Recent winners -  Magna Grecia, Saxon Warrior and Kameko - have all gone on from victory in the race to Classic glory in the 2,000 Guineas at Newmarket the next season.

In total, five winners have gone on from Doncaster going on to win the subsequent Derby at Epsom, most recently Camelot in 2011/12. 

The legendary racehorse trainer Sir Henry Cecil holds the record with the highest number of wins in the race with 10, closely followed by Aidan O’Brien who secured his ninth win in 2018.

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news, events and special offers direct to your inbox.