Founded In 1776

The world’s oldest classic.

Cazoo St Leger 2022

Cazoo St Leger History

Doncaster Racecourse - Home Of Cazoo St Leger

Steeped in over 400 years of history, the Cazoo St Leger Festival is the world’s oldest classic. Founded in 1776 by Colonel Anthony St. Leger, the Cazoo St Leger Festival is the highlight of Doncaster’s year, acclaimed as the premier sporting occasion of the Autumn calendar.

St Leger

Previous Winners

  • 2021 - Hurricane Lane | William Buick | Charlie Appleby
  • 2020 - Galileo Chrome | Tom Marquand | Joseph O'Brien | Galileo Chrome Partnership
  • 2019 - Logician | Frankie Dettori | John Gosden | Khalid Abdullah
  • 2018 - Kew Gardens | Ryan Moore | Aiden O’Brien | Smith / Magnier / Tabor
  • 2017 - Capri | Ryan Moore | Aiden O’Brien | Smith / Magnier / Tabor
  • 2016 - Harbour Law | George Baker | Laura Mongan | Jackie Cornwell
  • 2015 - Simple Verse | Andrea Atzeni | Ralph Beckett | QRL / Al Thani / Al Kubaisi
Leger Legend Jockeys at St Leger Festival 2019

St Leger Legends

First run in 2010, the race has grown rapidly in stature whilst capturing the attentions of the national racing media. The likes of Mick Kinane and the most successful lady jockey of all time, Julie Krone, have both lifted the Leger Legends accolade. In 2015, 20 times National Hunt Champion Jockey and legend of the racing World, Sir A P McCoy OBE, took the crown.

The Doncaster Cup on a table

The Doncaster Cup

One of the highlights of the Cazoo St Leger Festival is the Doncaster Cup, which was first run in 1766. First staged 10 years before the inaugural running of the world’s oldest Classic, the Cazoo St. Leger, the Group Two feature today forms part of the Quipco British Champions’ Series and is the final leg of the prestigious stayers’ triple crown.

Frankie Dettori after winning the William Hill St Leger Festival

Cazoo St Leger Day

The British 'Classics' are five races known as the most prestigious in the horse racing calendar. The Doncaster highlight forms the final leg of the Classic British 'Triple Crown' - an accolade last claimed in 1970 by Nijinsky. A well-known racing saying states that "The fastest horse wins the Guineas; the luckiest the Derby - and the best horse wins the Cazoo St Leger”.

Want More Info?

You can find loads more information about the event and any available tickets here.

Find Out More
Got A Question?

Our team are happy to talk around anything St Leger so just get in touch.

Contact Us

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news, events and special offers direct to your inbox.