Our website uses cookies and by using the site you agree to this. Learn more about this by clicking here.

William Hill St Leger History

Steeped in over 400 years of history, the William Hill St Leger Festival is the world’s oldest classic. Founded in 1776 by Colonel Anthony St. Leger, the William Hill St Leger Festival is the highlight of Doncaster’s year, acclaimed as the premier sporting occasion of the Autumn calendar.
Learn More
The St Leger awards on display at Doncaster Racecourse.

Previous Winners

Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2018 Kew Gardens  Ryan Moore Aiden O'Brien 
2017 Capri Ryan Moore  Aiden O’Brien
2016 Harbour Law George Baker Laura Mongan 
2015 Simple Verse  Andrea Atzeni Roger Varian 
2014 Kingston Hill   Andrea Atzeni Roger Varian
A horse and jockey are led round the parade ring at Doncaster Racecourse by a trainer and owner.

St Leger Legends

First run in 2010, the race has grown rapidly in stature whilst capturing the attentions of the national racing media. The likes of Mick Kinane - rider of one of the greatest horses seen in recent memory - Sea The Stars; and the most successful lady jockey of all time, the USA's Julie Krone, have both lifted the Leger Legends accolade.
In 2015, 20 times National Hunt Champion Jockey and legend of the racing World, Sir A P McCoy OBE, took the crown.
The race will help some great causes - the beneficiaries being two Yorkshire-based charities - the Northern Racing College in Doncaster and Jack Berry House, a rehabilitation facility for injured jockeys.
Learn More

The Doncaster Cup

One of the highlights of the William Hill St. Leger Festival is the Doncaster Cup, which was first run in 1766 and is now 252nd year. 
First staged 10 years before the inaugural running of the world’s oldest Classic, the St. Leger, the Group Two feature today forms part of the Quipco British Champions’ Series and is the final leg of the prestigious stayers’ triple crown.
Learn More
The Doncaster Cup which is presented at the St Leger Festival at Doncaster Racecourse.
A jockey holds up the St Leger award.

William Hill St Leger 

The British 'Classics' are five races known as the most prestigious in the horse racing calendar - the 2000 and 1000 Guineas start the season off at Newmarket, before the Derby and Oaks at Epsom in June. The Doncaster highlight forms the final leg of the Classic British 'Triple Crown' - an accolade last claimed in 1970 by Nijinsky.
A well-known racing saying states that "The fastest horse wins the Guineas; the luckiest the Derby - and the best horse wins the St Leger." See the best on Town Moor this September.
The Festival's showpiece day also features top-class races including the Champagne Stakes and the fast and furious, ultra-competitive sprint - the Portland Handicap.
Learn More

News & Offers

Sign up for the latest news, exclusive offers and details on forthcoming events.